Stay up-to-date on the latest at MauiWine

“Member of the Year” Award

MauiWine President Receives “Member of the Year” Award

The Maui Country Farm Bureau (MCFB) bestows Paula Hegele, president of MauiWine, with a “Member of the Year” award for her strong support and ongoing contributions of the island’s agriculture industry.

Hegele has been a part of the agriculture family for more than 25 years. She works hard to encourage the growth of diversified agriculture on the island understanding its economic and cultural importance. She is one of Maui’s “support local” warriors constantly promoting Maui-grown wines and building partnerships with neighboring farmers that have earned recognition for MauiWine and contributes to the local economy.

“I feel lucky to live, work and raise a family in a supportive agriculture community,” Hegele said. “If we did not have a vineyard on Maui or fellow farmers to support us, we would not exist. MauiWine is a winery and tasting room on a historical estate, a popular destination and attraction for Maui visitors and our local community—but none of it exists if we’re not farming.”

Hegele, whose background was originally in the travel industry, fell in love with the sweeping farmlands of upcountry Maui and pursued a career in the agriculture industry through the winery and hasn’t looked back since. Since her involvement, the winery has become a visitor destination that sees more than 100,000 visitors annually, and the wines are distributed internationally and can be found in all major retail outlets across the Hawaiian Islands and in many restaurants.

The “Member of the Year” award was presented to Hegele at the MCFB annual general membership meeting.

MCFB is a grassroots 501(c)(5) organization of farms and ranch families, agricultural industries, and associated organizations dedicated to supporting agriculture in Maui County. It is affiliated with both the statewide Hawaii Farm Bureau Federation and the American Farm Bureau.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *